Challah Bread

I’m not Jewish, but my brother is. So he got quite mad when I pronounced this ‘Holla’ bread. My apologies. I was at Trader Joes, and saw a lovely braided Challah bread so I decided to give it a try. I’ve never braided a loaf of bread before, so I’m quite pleased with how this one turned out! I love watching the bread rise, that’s the best part.

Recipe
1/2 cup lukewarm water, 1 cup water (separated)
1 T yeast
1/4 cup sugar
2 egg replacers
2 T canola oil
1/2 tsp salt
4 1/2 cup flour

1. Dissolve sugar and yeast into 1/2 cup of lukewarm water. Let it sit for 5-10 minutes while it activates. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. In a separate bowl, mix together the salt and flour. Pour in yeast mixture, remaining water, egg replacer, and oil. Mix until the dough is smooth and not sticky.
3. Knead the dough for 5 minutes, and then place in an oil coated bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Let it sit for about an hour in a warm place.
4. One dough has doubled in size, divide it into three equal pieces. Roll them out into three long ropes (about 12 in. in length) and braid them together. I like to tuck the ends in once I’m done braiding. Cover with a towel for half an hour.
5. Brush the top with some melted Earth Balance or oil. Bake in oven for 25-30 minutes, or until the top is golden brown.

This was my first Challah Bread, but definitely not my last! The crust was hard with a nice squishy inside, that went perfect with a nice spread of butter on top. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

