Snickerdoodles

I made these cookies while testing out what I wanted to give for Christmas gifts. This year I baked all my friends and co-workers vegan food and presented it in take out boxes. Michaels had some lovely holiday ones, and also some leopard print ones, which I had to get. But anyway, my dad loved these cookies. He isn’t vegan, but he’s always up for trying the treats I make. I ended up not giving these away, not because they weren’t good, but there just wasn’t enough room in the boxes. My favorite combination of cinnamon and sugar has always been the snickerdoodle.

Recipe
1/2 cup Earth Balance
1 ½ cups flour
1 cup sugar
1 egg replacer
½ teaspoon vanilla
¼ teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon apple cider vinegar

For rolling cookies in
2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
2. Beat the margarine in an electric mixer for about 30 seconds on high speed. Then add the flour slowly, the sugar, egg replacer, baking soda, vanilla and apple cider vinegar.
3. Beat until all is combined and then cover dough and place in the refrigerator for an hour.
4. Roll dough into 1″ balls and roll in the cinnamon and sugar mixture. Place a few inches apart on a cookie sheet.
5. Bake for 12 minutes or until the edges start to brown.
This recipe makes about 34 cookies.

These came out soft and chewy, but a few days later they started to get a bit crispier. My dad said he actually preferred then crispy, but I’m a chewy fan myself. Happy New Year everyone!

4 responses to “Snickerdoodles

  1. your snickerdoodles look perfect! i’m gonna try out your recipe next time i make a batch. thanks! i love them chewy, too! mmmmmmmmmm!

  2. These look great!

    But I’m wondering, 1/4 what of apple cider vinegar? I’m a total newbie at baking and I don’t want to mess this up.

  3. Sorry! 1/4 teaspoon. I try to proof read these guys, but something always slips by. Also, are you the same person who messaged me on LJ? I tried to reply, but it said something about your settings being set a certain way. So hopefully it was you, I’ll feel bad if it was someone else.

  4. Oh, thanks for replying! Yeah, that was me. Sorry, I accidentally set messaging to friends only.

Leave a Reply

