Chocolate Peppermint Shortbread

I’ve always loved shortbread. It’s like biting into a stick of butter, but way better. When I looked at the recipe I realized that I was basically biting into a stick of butter, but sometimes you just have to. I made these for my boss, and substituted the sugar with agave nectar for half the batch. She’s borderline diabetic, so agave nectar is perfect for someone in her condition. I had my mom test two and she preferred the one with sugar, so I’ll post that recipe. But feel free to use agave nectar if you are diabetic, or if you just like it better.

I never realized how simple the recipe was for shortbread until I found one to veganize. The only thing not vegan in the recipe was the butter, which I easily replaced with some Earth Balance. I decided to add the chocolate to spice things up a bit, but you can easily leave it out if you want.

Recipe
2 cups flour
1 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
6 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips
3 crushed candy canes

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Mix the flour and salt together, set aside.
3. Cream the butter and sugar together until it’s smooth.
4. Mix the flour and butter mixture together.
5. Roll out the dough and cut out shapes, or roll into balls and flatten for round cookies.
6. Place in the oven for 10 minutes.
7. While the cookies are baking, melt the 6 oz. of chips and crush your candy canes if you haven’t already.
8. When cookies have cooled, dip one end in melted chocolate and then roll in the crushed candy canes.

Hope everyone has a lovely holiday 🙂

4 responses to “Chocolate Peppermint Shortbread

  1. you are awesome. gave you a shout out on my blog. if you laugh at my male attempts at cooking, maybe shout back to me? your recipes and photos are tops!

    http://www.lostangelesblog.com

  2. Thank you! I just saw your bagel recipe…I think I may have to try that out.

  3. This sounds like a great recipe (it’s true, sometimes you DO just need to bite into something that is practically just a stick of butter…) but I’m confused: You say to mix the flour and sugar, and in the next step to cream the butter and sugar together, but there is only one entry for sugar? Do you split the sugar, or did I just misread something?

    Thanks, great blog!

  4. Sorry! That’s supposed to say mix the flour and salt. Thanks for catching that 🙂

Leave a Reply

